PDA

View Full Version : using Lee pro 1000 as a single stage press

authentic
06-25-2012, 07:09 PM
Im just getting into reloading and purchased a pro 1000 on a deal, Ive head some posts where reloaders have mentioned disabling the indexing rod and using the pro 1000 as a single stage press. since im a newbie that may be something id like to do while learning.

Has anyone here tried that? And are there any concerns I should have when trying to use the press in that way?

beex215
06-25-2012, 07:11 PM
off the top of my head, theres nothing wrong with that. you could still index the shell plate without the rod if you wanted too.

dragonrider
06-25-2012, 08:23 PM
And if you wish you could index the turret thus leaving the case in the front position. Or you can leave the index rod in place and just run one case at a time through the stations. It is a versitile press and a good choice for a newbie. What caliber are you working with.???

authentic
06-26-2012, 01:26 AM
And if you wish you could index the turret thus leaving the case in the front position. Or you can leave the index rod in place and just run one case at a time through the stations. It is a versatile press and a good choice for a newbie. What caliber are you working with.???

Im doing 380 and 9mm to start with, Id like to make match grade 308 for bolt action use at some point but I dont even own a 308 rifle yet so that could be a while. I dont know what press I want for 308 but ill find out as I learn, and I figured the pro 1000 is as good as any to learn on for $130 + dies.

evan price
06-26-2012, 05:17 AM
The pro-1000 can't do rifle taller than .223 so you need another press for 308 anyway.
I've had a Pro-1000 a long time, load a lot of stuff on it. It's good for what I need.

Mike Kerr
06-26-2012, 09:18 AM
I see you have taken additional steps to figure out the best way to learn on that puppy.