PDA

View Full Version : 35 lbs lead brick ID

mortre
06-21-2012, 05:07 PM
I am new to casting and have the opportunity to buy 3 ~35 lbs lead bricks for $75. The seller does not know the composition, he says he is a picker that got it out of a storage unit. It is marked with either a P, b, or 9. He can't tell which, and the only other info he can give me is that it looks old.

Any idea what it might be, or if it would even be worth buying?

a.squibload
06-21-2012, 06:55 PM
That's a fair price if it's lead.
Try to scratch it with a thumbnail, etc.

runfiverun
06-23-2012, 04:20 AM
that's over 100 lbs of lead for 75 dollars..
do the thumbnail scratch,see what temp it melts at,drop it on the concrete,what a boolit weighs test [if you don't have a tester]
usually a brick sized piece of soft/pure lead is in the 25 lb range.

Jens
06-23-2012, 10:39 AM
sounds like a good start.

lwknight
06-23-2012, 06:12 PM
Melt it.
See what happens.
LOL!

mortre
06-24-2012, 07:38 PM
Unfortunately someone else bought it while I was hemming and hawing about it =/

Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2

Guesser
06-24-2012, 11:13 PM
I once had access to hundreds of those bricks. The ones I have came out of the Idaho National Engineering Laboratory (INEL). The "site" was a nuclear test facility in the desert west of Idaho Falls Idaho started by the AEC after WWII. Was best known as the Naval Reactor Facility until 1994 when the Navy left. The bricks were used as temporary sheathing for radioactive components and facilities.

mortre
06-25-2012, 02:35 PM
Sounds like I missed out on a deal...

Oh well, not the first time that happened to me. Seems like every time I wait I loose out and every time I jump I get burned. That's life I guess.