PDA

View Full Version : Tin

45forlife
04-25-2007, 07:37 AM
I’ve been casting 45 acp for 5 years with wheel weights. I just purchased a 454 and want to cast harder boolits for it. What is a good source or where I can I buy tin.

Lloyd Smale
04-25-2007, 08:52 AM
tin isnt going to do much to harden ww bullets. YOu have two options either water drop or oven heat treat or alloy with lineotype

45forlife
04-25-2007, 09:29 AM
Thanks, I water drop all of the boolits I make but I always thought tin hardened the alloy. Is there anything I can add to harden the finished product?

Cherokee
04-25-2007, 09:38 AM
Antimony is the hardner and it best added as an alloy such as linotype. Very difficult for average caster to add antimony only because of the high temp requirement. You can buy alloys that are heavy in antimony and add it that way as well. I believe antimonyman.com sells such, and other alloys as well.

sturf
04-25-2007, 09:42 AM
Contact "The Antimony Man" on the web. He Has tin and the metals necessary to make lino out of your wheel weights. Me is Bill Furgison. Hope I spelled it right. Very nice guy and very heplful.

Cherokee
04-25-2007, 09:43 AM
I just checked and that URL for the antimony man does not work. Try google or such, I think he is still out there.

sturf
04-25-2007, 09:44 AM
should be "name is" not "me is"

sturf
04-25-2007, 09:45 AM
www.theantimonyman.com

Scrounger
04-25-2007, 10:02 AM
This one works: http://www.theantimonyman.com

R.M.
04-25-2007, 10:06 AM
45forlife