PDA

View Full Version : Making a long slide

Kilroy08
06-20-2012, 05:58 PM
I've been itching to build a 1911 for a while now.

My dream gun is a 6" long slide with barrels for .45 ACP and
.400 Cor Bon, no beaver tail nonsense, Hogue wrap around grips, and some nice target sights.

After watching the Shotgun News for a while, it seems that Sarco is the way to go for a budget build.

My question is this. How much of a pain in the butt would it be to cut and extend a slide? 6" slides are around $270 plus shipping! I'm a machinist and fairly competent with welding.

I'm assuming square everything off, V grind, and TIG it together, then dress and refinish. Oh, and fab up a fixture to situate everything in properly for welding.

wellfedirishman
06-20-2012, 06:12 PM
Give Rock Island Armory a call. I purchased a complete 6" top end from them for about $350. Barrel, slide, and target sights installed.

I had to fit it myself, that was straightforward. The gun turned out great.

Kilroy08
06-20-2012, 06:30 PM
I talked to them a couple days ago. All long slide stuff, both complete guns and slides are out of stock for at least 4 months.

$350 complete would be worth the price of not making extra work for myself,call back in 4 months it is.

It will probably take that long to set the money aside for my project anyway.

MBTcustom
06-20-2012, 07:13 PM
Buy the book "Pistolsmithing" by George C. Nonte, Jr.
It has detailed instructions on how to do what you are proposing, as well as a wealth of other info about how to properly tune and modify a 1911 any way you can dream of. It is also extremely helpful dealing with S&W builds. The pictures are B&W but are very disciptive, and he writes in a way that is both detailed and easy to understand.