PDA

View Full Version : Need help with a project

Alan in Vermont
06-12-2012, 12:31 PM
Folks, I'm going to need some help with a project.

Late in the fall a friend has a pretty major pig roast. It has developed into a pretty major social event/introduction to shooting. Last year we had quite a few kids, and some Moms and Dads, who got to pop their first primer. The host hopes that will expand some this year so I'm doing what I can to help it happen.

I'll be taking some of my shooters that are more suited for beginners as well as some for the casual shooters as we had people from absolute newbies to sorta good ones. Didn't have much for the kids last year because nobody expected how many were going to be interested.

Even managed to get an NRA basic pistol instructor who says he'll come to help out.

Anyhow, one of the sorta skilled guys had a Springfield .40 (XD-M, maybe) and brought a bunch of cheap ammo which a lot of people helped him burn off. Some of us put some $$ into his fund to help with the cost, most didn't. :(

I expect he'll be back this year, most likely with the .40 again. Hope he is anyhow. He doesn't load so I scrounged what brass I could, been scrounging every time I find any on the ground anywhere.

The plan is to put together a bucket of .40 stuff so he isn't paying for everybodys fun. I just did swap for a couple hundred rounds more brass so I'm probably well over the 300 mark now.

I don't have a .40 so I don't have lick-1 of what I need to make ammo for it. I also need to keep the cost down so copper condom bullets are out of the question.

Now that I've got you all softened up I'm going to ask to borrow a few things.