PDA

View Full Version : Lee 3 die set- Did I learn the hard way?

ncbearman
06-12-2012, 01:51 AM
I am loading .45 acp I have a SWCHP throwing at 193 gr. I size to .452 and lube. But the Lee die won't give me a consistent OAL. 1.245 is what is giving me consistent 2" groupings with my 1911 @ 15 yards. The OAL is off anywhere from 2 to 4 thousands. Or am I just expecting too much. :veryconfu

I get very consistent OAL on my 9mm's out of my old RCBS steel die set.

Before y'all laugh at me too hard.............I am new to casting and reloading. I look forward to your responses. Thanks in advance.

UNIQUEDOT
06-12-2012, 04:32 AM
The inconsistency is likely in the bullets and not caused by the die. Have you measured on the ogive? if you don't have the proper tool to do this with you can use the seating plug from the die. Just be sure to clean it good to remove all traces of boolit lube first.

6bg6ga
06-12-2012, 07:09 AM
I cannot maintain the length on my 45 loads from my Dillon square deal. I can vary .001-.003 and I find that it makes absolutely NO difference in my groups. I'm loading 5.6gr 231 with a 230 r n. out of 10 shots I score in the 90's at 45 feet. I surely would not sweat a few thousandths.

mdi
06-12-2012, 11:41 AM
Bullets and brass will vary by that much, easily...

paul h
06-12-2012, 01:53 PM
That may cause your groups to vary by a couple of thousandths.

Don't sweat it, you're going to have to fiddle with powder charges and possibly seating depth to tune the load to your gun. You're also going to have to contend with the limitations of the gun, and possibly your limitations with a handgun.

What makes reloading for handguns challenging, and rewarding when everything works right, is figuring out what the gun can do, what you can do, and finally what your loads can do.

Bullet Caster
06-12-2012, 01:59 PM