PDA

View Full Version : Basic Electrical help,please?

GT27
06-11-2012, 10:18 PM
Are there any electricians here that can possibly help me out with a pond pump problem? I have a 800 gallon pond and a 600-800 GPH pump.I plug it into the outlet on my garage that is separate from my house,has the old style 2 glass fuses in it. Line supplied from the house to the garage as a feed.Every time I plug it in it "kicks the GFCI"! I suspected a bad GFCI and replaced it! Same thing!!!! I plug it into the outlet that the garage door is on and it works fine????? Nothing else being used on the other circuit! I have basic knowledge of electrical: meaning bulbs,outlets,and ceiling fans if that helps you realize that I don't have a lot of electrical "edumakation" Anybody have any idea's? Thanks for any input,in advance! GT27

smoked turkey
06-11-2012, 11:15 PM
From my experience I think the GFCI is probably ok. It is kicking the breaker in the GFCI due to leakage current which can be from a cord that is either excessively long or a cord that is old and perhaps the insulation is cracked in places along its length. The GFCI is very sensitive to the leakage current between line and neutral. It probably thinks there is a short circuit when in reality it is leakage current. Since you are probably in the water with the equipment you really want a good cord to avoid injury. It doesn't take much current in those conditions to kill a person.

crazy mark
06-11-2012, 11:42 PM
A lot of electrical items will trip GFCI's. Air compressors, refrigeration compressors, pumps, and electrical heaters. I can't think of any of these items at work that are hooked up to GFCI's. This is at a hospital. Usually in todays world if something needs a GFCI it is already attached to the cord if it is 120 V. Your pump sounds like 220/240 V and that is unusual that they would have a GFCI with a 2 fuse circuit. Mark

Frank46
06-11-2012, 11:42 PM