PDA

View Full Version : point me to where I can get the info

Beekeeper
06-09-2012, 07:19 PM
Without causing any strife would someone point me to where I can find BP granulation diferences.
Looking for pressure diferences between FFG and FG as well as volume.
Don't have any FG so cannot make my own measurements.

Reason:,
I now use FFG Goex in my Mausers.
Cartridges of the World says use FG
I use 70-75 grains of FFG book says use 77 grains FG
What is the diference and what effect does it have on my load?

As I have said in previous posts I am a total newbe at BP having shot my first round less than a year ago so some of the data and loads are foreign to me but am learning fast.

Thanks for reading this and any help I get.

Please do not start a P***ing contest over my post as I am trying to learn the best way I know.

beekeeper

joec
06-09-2012, 07:48 PM
May be this can help and based on the Lee dipper chart. 1cc of FG is 13.9 gr and FFG is 14.7 gr. Now for the life of me don't know why people care a lot about gr when loading BP as it is a powder based on volume not weight.

Don McDowell
06-09-2012, 08:37 PM
Beekeeper I believe Johnboy has posted on several occassions the seive ratios of the various powders.Might do a search either here or on Google.
I am from the old school prior to the fake blackpowder **** and firmly believe in weighing charges , altho volume measure works to a certain extent for some bp shooting. Don't know how things are nowdays, but in the dark ages of the 1970's and 80's my rifle measures set to a certain gr charge would thro very close to that setting when using 2f powder.
As a "lets see what happens when" test. I set my Lyman 55 measure to drop a 68 gr charge of Goex Cartridge, with out changing the slides then filled the hopper with goex 2f express, the weight was 72 grs, and when going to 3f express the weight was 75 grs.
Velocity with those same charges and 530 gr bullets went from 1160- 1200-1275.