PDA

View Full Version : speed loading a BP revolver - any ideas for a newbie?

bubbapug1
06-06-2012, 12:24 AM
I am new to the BP game and enjoy it immensly, but I would like to speed up the loading process a bit.

I was wondering what some of you do to decrease loading time? I am thinking about weighing out the powder into small tubes which I can rip when needed and pour powder into the cylinder without measuring.

I was going to make the small cylinders out of cigarette rolling papers. If I saturate them on one end with some fine BP do I even need to rip them?

Could I just toss them in BP dusted side and ram them home?

Any other tricks of the trade to decreasing load times?

Also, I was lucky enough to buy this off the board last week. It showed up today and I realized I would get severe heartburn ruining the finish and detail on the cylinder of this thing...

I think I need to order a plain cylinder for this one....Can I buy a spare and just drop it in or are there timing issues or compatability problems I might run into?

Its a Navy 1851 Pietta. Its much more solid than the plain one I bought a few weeks ago.

http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr177/bubbapug1/gs1.jpg

http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr177/bubbapug1/gs2.jpg

http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr177/bubbapug1/gs3.jpg

http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr177/bubbapug1/gs5.jpg

http://i481.photobucket.com/albums/rr177/bubbapug1/gs4.jpg

waksupi
06-06-2012, 12:51 AM
Do it like the old timers. Get some spare cylinders!

.22-10-45
06-06-2012, 01:45 AM
Hello, bubbapug1. Back when I was shooting my Navy Arms 1851 .36, I made up combustable paper ctgs. Made up tapered mandrils for case forming from wood & metal..these tapered cases, like the originals, will break open when ramming home. Just buy some Saltpeter & make up a super-saturated solution (undesolved S.P. in bottom of container). I used both thin tracing paper & cig. papers. Ball was held in mouth with very light glue application.