PDA

View Full Version : quote of the day.

Ernest
04-20-2007, 11:06 AM
About two years ago some one gave me a Sheldon lathe. It had been sitting under a shed for many years. The shed only had a roof and no sides. To make a short story long it I finally got all the dirt and mud out of it and got it repaired so I can use it. The interesting thing is that I have NO machine shop experience. So I have some old books that I am reading and I hope to try to learn how to use the lathe. I talked to a friend of mine who has a little experience and this is his response

"Trying to teach yourself to be a machinist by reading a book is a lot like teaching your self how to be a brain surgeon. With enough study and perseverance you might do it but there sure is going to be a lot of tragedy along the way".

Onward throught fog!

Swagerman
04-20-2007, 11:19 AM
Ernest, that seems to pretty well sum up my efforts at becoming a machinest, I think I'm a better brain surgeon than a machinest...but I'm improving a bit as time goes by. :D

The books are all I have to go by, that and some tid-bits I get from this forum.

Jim :drinks:

KCSO
04-20-2007, 12:22 PM
Hey, Yes it helps if you can get some hands on experience, but you can do a lot just by reading and working at it. So what if it takes you 3 tries to turn a piece of scrap into a sizing die. You can also take a short coure at just about any Com. College that will give you a lot of what you need. Don't get discouraged and don't give up and you will get there.

floodgate
04-20-2007, 01:02 PM
Ernest:

You did OK; I remember those Sheldons were heavily advertised for gunsmithing work in the '50's. Does it have the 1-3/8" hole through the spindle? That lets you use the "economy" 5-C collets from the ENCO, etc., catalogs. Just take it slow. Get a copy of the 1942 South Bend book, "How to Run a Lathe" from LindsayBooks and work through it page by page.

floodgate

Ernest
04-20-2007, 02:10 PM