PDA

View Full Version : Plug and play pid controller

Deerhunter01
05-31-2012, 11:07 AM
I know there is a lot here on pid controllers for casting. Rather than search through all the posts ill just ask my question here. For many years I worked for a custom heat process equipment manufacturer as a test technician and electrician. I have Lots of experience with heating controls. I am wondering if there is enough demand here for me to design and build a plug and play unit to sell. I could put whatever bells and whisles you would like. For now im thinking some indicator lights to show when product temp is out of range and in range. I could do anything though that u want. Im also tossing around an control system using a modulating valve for LPG for smelting. This system would prolly cost double what the heat control for your casting pot. Might be nice for someone that does alot of smelting. So for know im just putting feelers out. In the mean time im gonna draw up some plans and research materials cost. Thanks in advance for your input and ideas.

runfiverun
05-31-2012, 02:38 PM
something that would show the pot temp and control it's temp within 10-20* would really help a lot of guys that drain thier pots down.
once they learned to put alloy in during a heat cycle [indicated by a light] that alone would help control large tamp swings.

mktacop
05-31-2012, 03:27 PM
Having already built PID controllers for my lead pot and my sizer, I don't really need one of those....BUT, if you could design a system for using a PID in conjunction with a LPG modulating valve as you mentioned, one that would convert a "standard" turkey fryer setup to a PID controlled burner for smelting, I would definitely be interested in at least buying a set of plans from you (I like the satisfaction of building things myself from a set of plans/instructions, but don't quite have the know-how to design such a system).

Roger Ronas
05-31-2012, 04:17 PM