PDA

View Full Version : Pan loobing question

helice
05-30-2012, 10:28 PM
I'm just getting into the art of loob making and have a question for you pan loobers.
I have collected a couple of 8X10 styrofoam meat trays (from the food market). The depth of these trays is about an inch, their bottoms are flat (as opposed to the waffled variety) and I find that they will hold about 150 boolits. My thought are that they are totally disposable and they will remain abundant as long as I don't become a vegetarian. (Fat chance of that.) They are however somewhat flimsy.:(
Before I go pouring my "Goober Loob" into these trays I wondered if any of you had experimented with these trays and what was your assessment of their utility????:confused:
So - Keep writing, cause I'm still learning.
Karl

Ben
05-30-2012, 11:15 PM
I wouldn't try it........................

Look at this, some useful information for you here. Notice the metal pan in the illustration. I bought it at " Dollar Tree " for ....you guessed it ....$1.00
It is much safer and much more stable than a styrofoam tray.

http://castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=34058

It won't get much cheaper than that and it will last for " 3 forever's."
If I might ask ? ? Why would you want to dispose of the pan, most
people that pan lube use the same pan year after year.

runfiverun
05-30-2012, 11:21 PM
i don't know the temperature styrofoam will take, but i know melted lube is 150-f or more.

turmech
05-30-2012, 11:49 PM
when I pan lube I heat the bullets with the lube in its solid form. the lube melts and fills the lube groves. this only works if the bullets are the same temp as the lube. as stated most lubes melt at or near the styrofoam.

fryboy
05-30-2012, 11:59 PM