PDA

View Full Version : 45-70 Sizing Die

Splendid Ha Ha
05-28-2012, 05:38 PM
I could use some advice on a sizing die; have three 45-70's, Ruger #1, Browning 1885 Traditional Hunter and 1884 Springfield Trap Door. Being new to casting and such other endeavors, my question is what size sizing die would you use if you are trying to just use one die. When reloading the 405 gn cast bullit, it seats well at the base, but shaves some lead at the rings and I was thinking of getting a custom lee die in 459 dia. I am a little new to this, so take it easy on me, thanks.

turbo1889
05-28-2012, 08:01 PM
The largest size that will freely chamber in all the guns.

I doubt that is as small as 0.459" I suggest you bell the mouth of one of your cases large enough to seat the boolit without shaving any lead just as it is cast un-sized from the mold. Then set a crimp die to take the bell out of the case mouth and see if the resulting round will freely chamber in all of your guns. If it does then just measure the "as cast" size of your boolits and you want a sizing die that just barely squeezes them but just makes them all uniform diameter and evened up like -0.0005" of the as cast diameter. If it doesn't freely chamber in all the guns then you need to reduces diameter of the boolit slightly by rolling it in-between two flat metal plates and try again and repeat until you figure out which size is the largest that will freely chamber in all your guns. If your going to use only one size die that is the size you want. If you already have multiple sizes of sizing dies it is a lot easier but rolling the boolit between two flat metal plates works well enough to size down a few for testing.

Crusty Deary Ol'Coot
05-28-2012, 09:48 PM
Ha Ha,

Turbo is giving you some good info to work with.

If you were working with a bottle neck cartridge, this would NOT likely apply,, but with the cases such as the 45/70, 38/357, 44 spl/44 mag etc. you can quite possibly get er done with one set of dies.