PDA

View Full Version : Ultrasonic cleaners

jrayborn
05-26-2012, 12:43 PM
I was wondering if anyone has experience with ultrasonic cleaners? There are quite a few available but they never seemed large enough to be worth the trouble to me. Lately I have seen some larger sizes in the $300 range. Does anyone use one?

I'd like to use it to help clean .22 silencers, pistols, and of course brass but I have no experience with actually using one and don't want to waste my money.

LUBEDUDE
05-26-2012, 07:28 PM
Like you I did not want to make such an investment myself without knowing the end result. Thus, I bought a $60-80 one from Harbor Freight to test the waters. I forgot how much it actually costs. I usually run simple green in it full strength and reuse it until it looks dirty.

I have had many hours of success out of it. Well worth the money. A complete Ruger Blackhawk 4 5/8 barrel will not completely submerge in the tank. If that is what I want, then it will take two passes, i.e., flip it on the second pass.

When I buy used reloading equipement on ebay, I break it down and put in the tank. It comes out looking almost new at times!

Oh yeah, and this one heats up as well.

If the $300 one will take a 6" gun submerged, I think it would be worth the money.

Good Luck

Silver-Silver
05-26-2012, 08:20 PM
I have heard lots of people say they bought the HF model.

I bought this one because I wanted to do multiple handguns at one time or a suppressor. I called the manufacturer and had a custom one made up with multiple transducers with more power to get in the crevices of handguns and other stuff I am cleaning. Also pickup the plastic tray accessory if you want to do a rinse or lube after the cleaning.
http://www.sharpertek.com/ultrasonic-cleaner-sh180-6l.html