PDA

View Full Version : How good does a boolit have to be

floydboy
05-22-2012, 09:13 AM
I have been casting for a few months now. My boolit making is definitely improving. I have cast some really nice boolits as of late. What I have noticed is I really can't tell any difference in accuracy in my perfect boolits vs my not so perfect earlier attempts. I only cast for pistols so far. I guess my question is can a person be to picky with his casting. Just how perfect do your boolits have to be.

Floyd

badgeredd
05-22-2012, 09:32 AM
I have been casting for a few months now. My boolit making is definitely improving. I have cast some really nice boolits as of late. What I have noticed is I really can't tell any difference in accuracy in my perfect boolits vs my not so perfect earlier attempts. I only cast for pistols so far. I guess my question is can a person be to picky with his casting. Just how perfect do your boolits have to be.

Floyd

I'd say that you'll find that perfect boolits aren't going to be noticeably more accurate in many instances in a pistol. Since you didn't mention any details like caliber, distance, load data it is hard to give you a real answer. It also depends on what you're considering as flaws. If you're shooting at 20 yards, it is likely you'll see no difference in accuracy with less than perfect boolits. BUT, if you strive for perfect boolits all of the time you'll not develop bad technique and will be able to cast good quality projectiles for all applications. I cast everything I can for all of my guns and you'll find the 22 caliber boolits can be challenging as are many others when you're trying to get superior accuracy at 100 yards and beyond, pistol or rifle.

Edd

largom
05-22-2012, 09:33 AM
They have to be good enough to suit YOU! Nothing else matters.

Larry

Reload3006
05-22-2012, 09:36 AM

Larry

You should have said can I have an amen at the end of that

AMEN

birdadly
05-22-2012, 09:37 AM