PDA

View Full Version : so, ya own a Dillon 550b and want a powder check...

wymanwinn
05-16-2012, 08:33 PM
well, i have instructions for adding a Dillon 650 powder check to a 550b....and it works GREAT....

pm me with your email address and i will send them to ya....pretty dang easy and reliable...

wyman

MtGun44
05-16-2012, 10:01 PM
I assume you have to give up a station. Is that correct?

Now THAT is a hat!

Bill

wymanwinn
05-17-2012, 10:28 AM
I assume you have to give up a station. Is that correct?

Now THAT is a hat!

Bill

actually no...with the preferred Dillon reloading setup you would seat the bullet in one station/die and crimp at the last station....

with this setup the seating station is used for the powder check requiring a combo seat/crimp die...i have been using RCBS combo dies for the last 10 years or so anyway....of course this is for pistol loads...my rifle loads are ALL loaded on my rockchucker...the old fashioned way...

wyman

Colorado4wheel
05-17-2012, 12:45 PM
That is what is meant by loosing a station. You loose the dedicated seating station and now have to seat and crimp at the same time.

MGySgt
05-17-2012, 03:22 PM
Every double charge or no charge except for one instance was operator error.

Double charge - pulled the handle part way down and then had to check something (powder already dropped) Called double clutching it. - Yes I have done it but I know to check/take the case out of the station and dump it back into the powder resevoir.

No powder - station was turned too far - skipped the powder. With cast and having to flair the case mouth in the charge die - boolit won't start in the seating die.