PDA

View Full Version : Casting Hollow Points? Suggestions?

David Bachelder
05-15-2012, 10:44 AM
I'm relatively new to casting and my experience is limited to two molds. The first a Lyman .358 4 cavity 150gr and the second a Lee .358 six cavity 124 grain. I have learned to cast pretty good boolits using these two molds.

Now things change. I decided to try my hand at a hollow point mold. I bought the mold on line, it was a LEE conversion. I have not tried it yet, but it looks as good as my other molds. I'm sure it will cast great once I learn to use it.

My question; I'd like to hear all the advice I can about casting hollow point boolets before I start. My nature is to dive in with both feet ..... sort through the carnage call it a lesson and move on. This time I want to hear from the experts .... dive in with both feet .. sort through the carnage .... call it a lesson and move on.

If it makes any difference the mold (was made by Erik Ohlen at hollowpointmold.com (http://www.hollowpointmold.com/)). It's his part #187, .358 two cavity, 158 grain RF, conversion. The price was reasonable, communication was great and the work looks first class to me.

Any suggestions?

Iron Mike Golf
05-15-2012, 12:52 PM
All my HP molds are made by Mihec. What I have learned is the pins need to be hot, or boolits might not release from the pins. The pins are not big, so they don't hold heat good. A brisk casting cadence helps. Pre-heating on a hotplate is pretty much mandatory for me.

I have also had good success with hitting the pins with a dusting of spray-on graphite.

I have had HP cavities get deformed by the pin if the mold is tilted a lot when releasing.

rintinglen
05-15-2012, 01:37 PM
My experience with hollow points is that to get good boolits, you need to run the pot hotter than normal. My Lee pot normally runs at about 7, but for HP molds, I run it all the way to the top.