PDA

View Full Version : Help w/ Adjustable PP Mold

PanaDP
05-14-2012, 12:20 AM
I'm a pretty new caster. I've been casting for 6 months or so. Just a couple days ago I received a KAL adjustable PP mold and I'm having a bit of trouble with it or, rather, with me. I'm sure it's not the mold, which is really a beautiful little piece of machining work.

The problem I was having was a couple type of finning or flash showing up. I had a little fin on the base (between block and base plug) of the bullet a large percentage of the time. I have the set screw keeping the base in place tightened very modestly. I used the end of an allen that gives less mechanical advantage and just used two finger pressure. Could it still be too tight?

The other problem I had was getting little needles of lead that had flowed into the vents. Do I simply have the melt too hot? I didn't really know how to treat this mold so I copied what I do with my BACO money mold, which cast beautifully with these parameters.

I'm casting about 30:1 lead:tin and I kept the melt temp. hovering between 800F and 820F. I ladle pour them and I keep the spout in contact with the sprue plate until lead starts to come out of the sprue hole then I make a sprue puddle.

Good Cheer
05-14-2012, 05:32 AM
Just curious, are you using a ladle or a bottom pour spout?

bigted
05-14-2012, 05:46 AM
i see that you DID say you ladel pour but sounds a bit hot to me... but ill let others chime in that have more experience then myself.

powderburnerr
05-14-2012, 10:38 AM
panadp
you do not need to run the kal mould so hot , between 750 and 800 works about perfect ,
the finning is from a too hot a block as is the base fin , , the mould probably isnt releasing the bullet real easily also
slow down your cadence , do not hold the ladle on the sprue plate quite as long and count to 15 after the puddle on the top hardens , ...
when you get the rythem down the bullets will drop out on their own accord.

littlejack
05-14-2012, 11:55 AM