PDA

View Full Version : reloading help for 303 british

yakutstk
05-08-2012, 09:40 PM
Recently started going shooting with my parents and ended up picking up an enfield, but I'm having a bit of trouble deciding which route to go with for reloading since the rounds are somewhat costly out here, either getting molds etc and making cast or swaging. Reason being molds for casting rounds are pretty cheap if i get lees but i don't know what kind of range/leading i would get with them vs using a swage die set from ch4d as well as what other equipment i would need to get either, save our reloading presses and a die set for the rounds themselves. Figured it couldn't hurt to ask people that have been doing both for a while which route would be better in the long run.

Any advice really is welcome as I'm completely new to both shooting and reloading.

b52fizzle
05-08-2012, 10:04 PM
If new to both I would honestly buy the components first, to get the feel of reloading, start with as many books as you can find those are your main "components" to reloading. Will still be cheaper than buying factory can get practice shooting and working on loads to see what will fill your bill when you do start casting/swaging your own just my thoughts, but definitely research and safety are key

yakutstk
05-08-2012, 10:14 PM
I'm actually reading through our modern reloading second edition book currently to see if i can get any clues on it from there

GRUMPA
05-08-2012, 10:36 PM
Well here's the quick and dirty on this.

If you don't have some years/experience with rifle reloading, Please learn the basics, reading, acquiring tools of the trade, dies, press, powder and so on.

I noticed from your last thread your reading and that's a great start in the right direction.