PDA

View Full Version : So many variables-where to start?

coverbw
05-01-2012, 01:56 AM
I have a S&W 629-1 that i have been trying like hell to turn into a cast shooter. I fire lapped the barrel so no constrictions. The barrel is .430 and the throats measure .433. The largest sizer die I can find was a .431. I have been using a 44-245 RCBS mould with ok results. I thought a gas checked bullet would help the large throat issue so I bought a lyman 429215 mould.

The load: BHN 11 alloy sized .431, carnuba red lube, hornady gc, 21 grs of 2400.

I shot one cylinder full and couldn't believe the leading. I was getting ribbons of lead on a tight patch! This is my first time trying a gas checked bullet and this is by far the most leading i have experienced. I was thought a gas check helped to reduce leading, where did I go wrong? There are so many variables to lead bullet shooting it gets overwhelming!

:groner:

Thanks for any insight

runfiverun
05-01-2012, 02:57 AM
try 2 grs less 2400.
if you want that speed go to h-110

rintinglen
05-01-2012, 03:36 AM
What size are your boolits after sizing? You may not be getting the size you think you are. It sounds very much as if your boolits are are undersized for your gun, yet according to the info you provide, you ought to be just fine. Check the diameter of your boolits after sizing and lubing them and see if they are really .431 or not. Although I personally haven't been the victim, a lot of guys whose opinions I respect have reported getting Lyman molds that cast way on the small side. It may be that you have fallen afoul of the tiny Lyman cutter.

subsonic
05-01-2012, 07:52 AM
Definitely double check your sizing operation to make sure you are over bore diameter.
Try a harder alloy or heat treat your alloy.
The gas check is not a cure-all - but it helps.

David LaPell
05-01-2012, 09:23 AM
I think you might be using bullets that are too soft. Try something that it is around 14-18 BHN with those velocities.

44man