PDA

View Full Version : 225450 lyman

Littlewolf
04-29-2012, 11:21 PM
hi yall,
i got this lyman mould because the roundball moulds i have impressed me with their longevity, and i needed bullets for my 22 hornet and i like the long nose profile of the 450 over the short round noses of the modern moulds.
BUT i just can't seem to get my hands on a 450 top punch to go with a lyman sizer.
it seems to me more reliable to get the gas checks seated when the base of the bullet goes through the sizer first rather than nose first like the lee sizers
as you can probably tell i'm fairly new to cast bullet cartrige loading. all i intend to cast bullet load at this point is 22 hornet or maybe 222 and with the same projectiles. any wisdome would be greatly apreciated
also using printer's type for the material

beagle
05-03-2012, 01:15 AM
The #450 TPs are pretty hard to find. I picked up several at Bif's Gun World in Louisville, KY several years ago and let a friend have one. They're in the online directory. You'll have to call as there's no web site.

Or, you may be able to turn down a #418 if you can find one.

Both of these take a very pointy TP and I can'trecall anything that uses anything that will work./beagle

frnkeore
05-03-2012, 02:05 AM
You can make a top punch by filling another, drilled out punch with epoxy. Size the bullet first and put it in the die. Wax the nose of the bullet, then bring the epoxied punch down on to it. Leave over night and you've got your punch.

Frank

largom
05-03-2012, 08:38 AM
You can make a top punch by filling another, drilled out punch with epoxy. Size the bullet first and put it in the die. Wax the nose of the bullet, then bring the epoxied punch down on to it. Leave over night and you've got your punch.

Frank

This is how I make ALL of my top punches.

Larry

NSP64
05-03-2012, 11:10 AM