PDA

View Full Version : Western Auto Marlin

richhodg66
04-23-2012, 07:40 AM
Ran across one in a local shop for $279 asking price Saturday. I think I'm gonna go back and get it this afternoon.

Near as I can tell, it's a Marlin 335. Has the Micro Groove barrel which I have never used before. It definitely has a few scars, but does not have the dreaded cross bolt safety and is stocked in Walnut, with a nice blue on it, overall in pretty decent shape. The bore is good, someone actually cleaned it before it went on that used rack.

The only other Marlin lever I've shot is my pre Micro Groove .35 Remington and I like it a lot. I kind of subscribe to the theory that "there's always room for another .30-30, and for what Marlins seem to be going for these days, this seems to be a good deal. I'm also getting into deer hunting with cast and this would be another good one for that.

Thoughts on the house brand Marlins?

adkpete
04-23-2012, 07:48 AM
I picked up a Western Auto Revelation in 30/30 about a month ago. Nice gun, It will be a cast boolit shooter only. I paid a bit more for mine than you.
Pete

richhodg66
04-23-2012, 07:59 AM
Honestly, despite the wear on it (which wasn't real bad) this one looked better to me than the modern production Marlins. I don't think I ever saw a Marlin sold under a department store name, I've seen a lot of Winchesters and Mossbergs though.

Lonegun1894
04-23-2012, 09:00 AM