PDA

View Full Version : 380 cast tips

fish0123
04-21-2012, 07:44 PM
Hello everyone, I'm a new member that is just getting into casting my own boolits.

So far I have completed about 1000 bootlits for my little Ruger LCP 380 with my LEE 102 grain mold. All of my other handguns are glocks so I am limited to the LCP for casting for now.

The problem is that I can't find data for the 380 anywhere. Currently all I have is Universal clays powder. Any tips would be appreciated. I am still relatively new to reloading as well so I am not to sure how to load ammunition without the exact load data available. I was thinking about using the 100 grain jacketed data in my lee manual and staying on the low end, but figured I would ask here first. Also, for the OAL, should I try to stick to the minimum value or midway between min and max?

Iron Mike Golf
04-21-2012, 08:20 PM
You can use data for 100 gr jacketed loads.

Use the OAL in the manual as a guideline. Use your gun's barrel as a gauge. Your finished rounds should drop right in to the barrel and need no pressure to seat fully. The roud should stop going forward from hitting the casemouth, not the boolit hititng the lands. Adjust your OAL until this happens.

fish0123
04-21-2012, 09:15 PM
This may sound dumb but how do you know if the case mouth is hitting and not the boolit hitting the lands.

I tried it and the boolit seats into the barrel fine and comes to a stop, I'm just not sure why it stopped, because the case mouth hit or the boolit hit, not sure which. This OAL issue could be the reason why I see small slivers of brass in my 9mm glock barrel after firing some reloads the other day.

My uneducated thoughts are that I could just seat a boolit into a case and push it the rest of the way using the barrel, or just try to copy the size of factory ammo?

rintinglen
04-22-2012, 12:19 AM