PDA

View Full Version : Sightron scopes

Lefty SRH
04-17-2012, 10:20 AM
Can anyone testify to the quality of Sightron scopes? I have a renewed interest in long range shooting and looking to buy a new scope for my rifle. Sightron has one that has a MOA graduated reticle. I'm curious about their quality/reliability.

pipehand
04-17-2012, 12:13 PM
I've bought several of their S-I series 3x9x40mm Mildot scopes, and found their adjustment to be reliable, and the optics to be very good, especially for the price. I have no experience with their higher end and more expensive scopes, but am very satisfied with their low end.

VA Shooter
04-17-2012, 02:08 PM
What do their low end scopes cost

Lefty SRH
04-18-2012, 05:31 AM
The scope I have in mind is a Series III, $900 range.

Nobade
04-18-2012, 07:52 AM
I have checked out a lot of Sightron scopes on our test fixture at the shop. In some ways they are one of the best scopes you can get - tracking, glass, reliability, etc. The company is wonderful to work with if you have a problem. My big beef with them is they can't get their mil dots to work. The reticles and turrets are always around 10% off, almost like they are confusing metric and english measurements when they manufactured them. I sent one back to them for repair, they had it for two years and finally sent me the money back since they couldn't fix it. But in situations where mils don't matter, for example F class or silhouette, I don't think you can find a better scope until you spend more than twice the money. Note this applies to the Big Sky and SIII lines, not the cheaper ones. Those are about like everybody else's cheap scopes at the same price point.

Forrest r
04-18-2012, 09:53 AM
I have/own a Sightron SII 36x42BRD benchrest scope with the 1/8” dot. I’ve owned 36x scopes made my Tasco (made in Japan), Leupold & Weaver. The key word is “owned”, those scopes are gone & the Sightron is my go to precision scope.