PDA

View Full Version : Why Pure Lead for Black Powder??

Al. H
04-17-2012, 06:37 AM
Hi,
I'm new to bullet casting and black powder - all sources say pure lead must be used for black powder guns but no one says why. I understand that hardness increases with increased antimonium and tin - but why is increased hardness a problem?
I'm in Finland and have had trouble sourcing pure lead at a reasonable cost. I've been using lead from a scrap metal dealer - its not pure but I've no idea of how impure. Its harder that pure lead bullets and balls.
When shooting the scrap lead out of my uberti 1851 colt accuracy is far better than using the shop pure lead balls. Last year I put 1500 balls down the barrel and barrel shows little sign of wear (its still blued on the inside). I've noticed the same with a uberti 1858 Remington and 1853 Enfield but I've shot them far less.
So...whats the deal why is pure lead so important for black powder guns??
PS - I'm target shooting not hunting and I use the smallest BP load possible on 25m pistol and 50m rifle range.

MBTcustom
04-17-2012, 06:55 AM
Most of it has to do with muzzle loading. If you have to poke the ball down the barrel from the bore, and that ball/boolit has to fully engrave the rifling, then it had better be soft lead or your going to need a hammer.
The other reason, is that soft lead obturates the bore more effectively than hard lead does. However, if you are shooting cartridges at targets, you may find that best accuracy will be with an oversize boolit that fits the throat well, and is of a slightly harder alloy like 20-1.
Some of this is tradition, there are many many myths that castboolits has put to rest, and how to size your boolit to fit your gun is the same no matter what propellent or firearm you are using.
Slug the bore, make sure the boolit is at least .001 oversize, or fit to the throat/lead in of your rifling, experiment with lubes and powder charges till you get what you're after.
Every time, same thing.

Al. H