PDA

View Full Version : New Chronograph

Moonie
04-13-2012, 09:12 AM
I'm very excited about shooting tomorrow. I received a new chronograph, a Master F-1. I've been reloading for 25 years and casting for about 20 of those but have never owned a chronograph. This will be a new experience for me to finally know exactly how fast my boolits are traveling without having to extrapolate/guess from what is in my many manuals.

hornady
04-13-2012, 09:40 AM
Congratulations on the new chrony. I bought mine about 5 years ago. I don’t set it up as much as I did at one time, but it doses take away the guesswork working up a new round. One suggestion take someone with you to help set up. They can be a pain if doing it by your self. You want to know you have a good line of site. Plenty of stories of shot Chronys on the Internet.

Moonie
04-13-2012, 12:11 PM
Yup, I have a couple of sons going with me, we will be shooting on a friends property, he has allowed us to setup a range, 3 shooting positions, 100Y, 200Y and one that should be close to 1,000, haven't verified the distance on the last one yet. This will be the first time we have shot there.

Axton1
04-13-2012, 09:02 PM
Wow Moonie!
That is a might fine friend you've got to have permission to use that large a plot!
Make sure ya' give him a pat on the back occasionally - case of beer, mow his yard or buy him a side of beef or sump'n!

Myself, I have a love/hate relationship with my chrony. I know the thing WORKS because I've gotten repeatable results with it lots of times. (Rifles work fine - it's the pistols that's the probem.) But occasionally, I just don't do MY PART correctly and the readings are junk! Not to discourage you but, something to be aware of. I'll be the first to admit that it is my fault, I haven't taken the time with the thing to work out the kinks and occasionally have gotten out too late in the evening for it to work correctly. The things like quite a bit of light to function properly apparently.....