PDA

View Full Version : Proper crimping?

**oneshot**
04-04-2007, 09:25 PM
I am new to handgun reloading. I noticed after shooting my handloads that the crimp was still present in the brass, not as harsh but it was still there. I'm looking for some pictures or really good references as to the proper crimp.

I'm going to load a few test rounds in the morning with graduations in the crimp and see if I get bullet movement.

Thanks
Tom

Sorry,
I'm loading for a 41 Rem Mag in a Ruger Blackhawk. I'm using H110 and WLP primers. Remington brass (winchester brass is my next batch since they carry it locally in stock) I've loaded three different bullets: Remington 200gr hollow point, Remington 210gr softpoint, and Hornady 210gr XTP's. I adjusted my dies with each bullet to get proper seating and length. I fired several loads with each bullet and noticed the crimp after I resized and went to trim they were very snug on the pilot. All were new brass, sized and trimmed to length.

As I said, I'm new to handgun reloading and this may be normal and/or nothing to worry about.

Thanks again
Tom

454PB
04-04-2007, 10:27 PM
You don't say what cartridges you're loading, but my crimp intensifies as the pressure and recoil increase. If the crimp is still visible, you are either using very thick walled brass, or the pressure is too low to iron out the crimp. In my magnum handguns, I crimp heavily, and do it as a seperate operation from boolit seating. As long as you don't damage the boolit or brass, there is no such thing as too much crimp IMHO. If you are loading mild .38 specials, you only need enough crimp to prevent boolit movement in recoil.

MT Gianni
04-04-2007, 10:43 PM
I think you are on the right track. When you shoot a couple of rounds and open the cylinder seeing movement then you haven't got enough crimp. Obviously heavy bullets and faster loads insrease the need to crimp tighter. Gianni.

pumpguy
04-04-2007, 11:05 PM