PDA

View Full Version : Confusion on what I would need to swage

Muddydogs
04-11-2012, 11:04 AM
So I am very interested in this hole swaging deal. I do a little casting so have some understanding of that process but am a little confused as to what I need for swaging.

I am interested in swaging .40 165 grain bullets and .223 55 grain bullets.

First question I have is will my old Rock Chucker press handle swaging with BT Sniper dies?

I think I am looking at BT's one step .40 die with the hollow point and XTP punch. It appears that I need to purchase a die, and XTP punch as well as a expander die?

I am lost on the BT 223 set up. I see some dies listed but then this or that isn't included.

Guess I am looking for some info on what I need to get started and what additions are nice to have but not necessity to start out.

Thanks guys.

GRUMPA
04-11-2012, 11:35 AM
First off welcome to the money pit.

I'm somewhat new to the whole sagging game myself but I think I learn on the faster side. The 9mm to 40 is really simple to do, and I also do the 40cal to 45 as well and that one takes some time to almost master.

I use the RCBS RCII press for all of my swagging so far without an issue. I did stock up on pure lead though and for some strange reason just over 150lbs of this stuff just isn't enough for me. I do have WW lead but I would rather use pure lead.

As far as the 223 set up goes someone else is going to have to chime in on that part.

And now I'm on the hunt for a good (used) digi-scale so I don't have to use my beam scale to weigh out my cases, that takes me a gawd awful amount of time to do.

BT Sniper
04-11-2012, 12:20 PM
The 40 cal swage die I offer is a great set up for anyone getting into swaging, very easy to use and inexpensive in relitive terms. The bullets they make from 9mm brass shoot and perform very well. In my opinion everyone should be making and shooting a 40 cal it is so simple.