PDA

View Full Version : Ruger Mini 14

fishnbob
04-10-2012, 03:22 PM
Anybody out there find any accuracy in a Ruger Mini 14? I think the two that I have tried averaged about 4" groups @ 100 yds with factory ammo.:-?

Stork
04-10-2012, 03:37 PM
That's better than the one I had. Didn't have it long either. Everyone I talked to got the same 4-6" groups with theirs. The first 2 shots were pretty close until the barrel warmed up a bit, then it went to improved cylinder.

I've heard the new ones are better with the shorter thicker barrel. The one I had was in the 1980's. I gave up on 223 semi auto's until I started shooting Hi Power in 2005 with AR's. Of the 3 varieties I've got, the worst group is under an inch at 100 yds, best is a bit under 1/2".

FWIW

GRUMPA
04-10-2012, 04:41 PM
I had a young guy tell me about his accuracy problems with his Mini-14, we got to talking a bit more in depth and come to find out he was using what ever cheapo stuff he could lay his hands on. It wasn't until later in the conversation that he was able to name a few of the brands he was using.

He was getting pretty much what you guys were on paper, the light finally went on in my head (dim one at that) and mentioned to him that there is more than 1 flavor of 223 stuff available. Some stuff he said did OK other stuff not so good. He was using 223 bargain stuff along with 5.56 bargain stuff, some steel some brass cased. So I gave him a brief explanation as to what differences there is in the 2, namely pressures, then the light went on in his head, kinda like a eureka moment, haven't seen him since.

My personal Mini-14, it does real well with my roll your own stuff, J-words that is.

fishnbob
04-10-2012, 05:53 PM
My personal Mini-14, it does real well with my roll your own stuff, J-words that is.

I read y'all loud & clear. After I reload a few & try it again, I'll probably trade it or sell it and get another AR. They typically shoot pretty close. :D

MtGun44
04-10-2012, 06:03 PM