PDA

View Full Version : Lee 45colt Delux Die Set

newton
04-05-2012, 09:06 AM
I have a die set I am needing some help with.

Here is the link in case someone needs a 'visual' idea of what I am talking about.

http://leeprecision.com/reloading-dies/hand-gun-dies/

Ok, so I am completely new to reloading pistol rounds. I have a 45colt Ruger BH. Everything seems to be looking good as far as chamber, throat, and bore dimensions. Along with that, the sizing die I use puts my boolits right at .452" Which is perfect for the gun dimensions.

On another thread I was talking about how I am experiencing leading. There are a few things that were the cause of this (really hard boolits and not enough lube) but someone also mentioned checking out whether or not my cases(with the help of the dies) were 'resizing' my boolits.

I checked it out this morning and sure enough I went through the process of loading a dummy round and when I pulled the boolit it had shrunk down to ~.4515"-.451".

So what exactly can I do to alleviate this issue? My first thought is to not size the case at all. I will have to wait till my gun gets back, but I am pretty positive it will fit in the chamber after being fired. With an unsized, once fired case, my boolit almost just drops in.

But then if I did that what about the crimping process? It seems to me that the factory crimper will cause the boolit to be squeezed down.

I am still going to play around with this, but I thought maybe someone else had already gone through this and knows of a quick fix for my issue.

geargnasher
04-05-2012, 01:22 PM
First, you need case tension to retain the boolits under recoil in the revolver, the crimp is just he "icing" on the cake and doesn't do the majority of the work keeping the boolits still. You also need a certain amount of case tension for consistent burn pressures and that affects accuracy.