PDA

View Full Version : storing molds

happyhunter
04-02-2012, 12:18 PM
Newbie here,
just got into casting. I know rust is bad for molds. How should I store them so they do not rust? What is the best way to get them ready for use when I pull them out of storage?

Thanks,
HH

Ola
04-02-2012, 01:14 PM
That depends on the climate. Here in northern Europe the air is dry enough that I've never had issues with rusting. Even when I did not store my iron molds properly.

One way is to clean the mold immediately, spray some WD-40 on and put the mold in a glass jar with tight lid.
When you pull it out of storage you have to get rid of the preservative (WD-40) with break cleaner or other solvent.

btw. use the "search" to find more info..

Huntducks
04-02-2012, 01:43 PM
Have no clue were you live some of you seem to be afraid to list what state you live in.

Here in SoCal I just put all my iron molds back in the mold cabinet after they cool off.

John Boy
04-02-2012, 01:45 PM
How should I store them so they do not rust? What is the best way to get them ready for use when I pull them out of storage?
You have choices:
* Coat with mineral oil
* Use descant paper
* Spray with Eezox, a proven rust preventative
* Store with free descant packages that your pharmacist will save for you when they receive bulk drug packages
I use the free drug store descants with the molds sprayed with Eezox - all 76 molds and still buying new ones

* Rinse the mold with hot tap water
* Scrub with tooth brush coated with John D Jr Hand Cleaner
* Rinse the mold with hot tap water and dry
* Spray with brake cleaner and dry
All 76 molds and still buying new ones

happyhunter
04-03-2012, 08:58 PM
I live in PA. Gets pretty humid here. Yeah I do run a dehumidifier in the basement where I store my toys. But still basements can get damp for various reasons. Better safe than sorry.

Thanks,
HH

Huntducks
04-04-2012, 03:32 AM