PDA

View Full Version : first reloads

boomfactor
04-02-2012, 09:31 AM
i am new to casting and reloading. i have an xdm 5.25 .45 acp. using a lee 452-230 truncated cone mold,sizing to 452 on lyman 450 with rooster red lube. 3.7 gr. clays. im not positive of the alloy mix,my dad gave me a bunch of ingots he casted himself,this mix he has shot in several calibers for thuosands of rounds with no problems. my oal is 1.165 any more and they hit the rifling you can see the angled lines on the bullet if i tap the back a little while doing the the barrel drop test.
i use a slight taper crimp around 471 some at 470.they fit nicely in the barrel and shoot fine,but when i put them in my wilson guage almost all of them wont fit unless i crimp a little more. the problem is i am getting a fair amount of leading in the chamber and the first inch or so of the barrel after only about 100 rounds.everything i have read points to to small of a bullet. i guess the question is how much leading should be expected?and am i over thinking this. its not that hard to clean it out, just wasnt expecting to see any so soon.

MtGun44
04-02-2012, 01:45 PM
Not sure of the quality of Rooster Red lube. First thing is to try a known good lube like
NRA 50-50 or LBT soft blue on 100 rounds and change nothing else. It is VERY rare
that .452 is not perfect for a .45 ACP. This caliber has proven to be one of the most
consistent for me, with almost all barrels slugging at .451 or .4515 from many different
manufacturers and over many decades of samples.

Bill

boomfactor
04-02-2012, 03:59 PM
i will do that and get back later with results.thank you

codeNshoot
04-02-2012, 05:58 PM
I think you share a common problem with the gentleman in this thread.

http://www.castboolits.gunloads.com/showthread.php?t=147923

boomfactor
04-17-2012, 04:57 PM