PDA

View Full Version : New revolver owner needs help.

Budmen
03-31-2012, 11:39 AM
I just bought a .36 Cal. Pietta Revolver from a member. I have always wanted to toy with one of these and finally found one I wanted for the right price. I dont have the gun yet but am trying to get everything I need to shoot it together.

Question #1 can anyone recommend a good boolit mold something in a conical form . It has a 5 inch barrel and is a six shot. I do not know the twist on the barrel.

Question #2 When I cast for this should it be with pure lead like a muzzleloader?

Question #3 Can anyone recommend a safe light load to fire from this?

Question #4 Does this need to be patched or fitted boolit?

Like I said Im new to this and never done much research. If there is anything else I should know please post it. For now it will be a novelty paper puncher but it may become a small game side arm someday.. Thanks for any help:castmine:

Fly
03-31-2012, 01:30 PM
Most .36 cal cap & ball revolvers take a .375 dia ball.Don't ask me why, but they
do.I would buy a Lee .375 mold.F&M reloading has the best price I have found.

http://www.fmreloading.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=FMR&Category_Code=Lee+Black+Powder+Molds

Fly

Geraldo
03-31-2012, 01:57 PM
I'll answer your questions out of order.

#2-Yes, it should be pure lead because...
#4-the bullet needs to shave a ring of lead when you ram it into the cylinder. So it really needs to be over-sized to begin with. As Fly says, .375" usually works, except when it doesn't. My .36 Uberti requires a .379", but they usually run a little larger than Piettas. At any rate you're going to need a ball or bullet that runs at least .375", possibly larger. I would buy or beg some of each and see what you can get away with before you answer #1.

#3-15-20gr of fffg should be fine. If it's a brass frame stay on the lower end.

What you didn't ask:
5-Caps-depending on the nipples you will need either #10 or #11.