PDA

View Full Version : Hornady hand priming tool vs Lee

omgb
04-01-2007, 12:52 AM
Here's one for the books. My Hornady Hand Priming tool is a bigger PITA to use than the Lee. I just primed 400 case with it and I had 10 or so flipped primers and several instances where no primer was fed at all. Add to that all of the hassle of getting the right shell holder priming bushing and changing over the tool from large to small or changing the bushing when going from Lee to RCBS or Lyman or Redding shell holders and frankly, the Lee tool is better and about 50% cheaper too!

Dale53
04-01-2007, 12:58 AM
The Lee priming tool is "Ace's" for sure. I have several different types of priming tools, both hand and bench mounted. My "go to" primer is the Lee.

Dale53

Hunter
04-01-2007, 02:26 AM
I have no experience with hand priming tools so my question is why not use the press to seat the primers?

Bret4207
04-01-2007, 07:16 AM
Because the press is slower than death. I assume you mean one at a time. I can rip off 100 cases with a Lee or RCBS hand primer in maybe 3 minutes.

Now if you're talking a bench mounted primer press like the RCBS, I imagine it's just as quick.

DaveInFloweryBranchGA
04-01-2007, 07:58 AM
While I haven't used mine in a good while since I seldom reload on a single stage press any more, I've found the Lee Auto Prime to extremely hard to beat on cost vs. performance against any other design. It has a very good feel, especiallly if you take the time and care to lube it in the places where wear occurs.

Additionally, lubing it greatly extends the life and since the things are so inexpensive, one can have one for small and one for large primers for less than the cost of any other brand out there.