PDA

View Full Version : Need help with fluxing

Flintlock Hokie
03-25-2012, 07:36 PM
I'm new to casting. I bought some wheel weights, melted them down to make some ingots in a muffing pan, then successfully cast some round balls for my flintlock. But I don't understand fluxing. I tossed in some chunks of candle wax. It smoked like crazy then caught fire. I tried stirring it, but not really sure why I did that since lead is so much heavier than melted paraffin.

What is supposed to happen? How do you know when to flux? (I read somewhere that more fluxing is better.) What should I see with the metal after I flux? How do I know my fluxing worked?

Thanks!

Wolfer
03-25-2012, 08:05 PM
That's normal, you can light the smoke if if you want so it's not quite the ( surprise )
You need to stir it in as much as you can, scraping the sides of the pot. When your lead first melts there will be some chunky globs of metal on top. This is your tin and antimony. Once you have fluxed there should only be some dirt looking stuff on top. I believe this stuff might be poison. When you dip it off the metal should have a smooth shiny surface. Depending on your heat directly you will notice tin and antimony coming back to the top. That's when you flux again. If you keep your heat not too far above the melting point you won't need to flux very often. I always flux when first melted but often don't flux again until I add lead.

I believe any other fluxing material is harder to flame than parrifin. I use crayons and they rarely catch fire. There's another thread on site right now on household fluxing materials.

puddledog
03-25-2012, 09:12 PM
You should be using pure lesd not WW for a muzzleloading firearm.

puddledog
03-25-2012, 09:13 PM
Sorry lead

waksupi
03-25-2012, 09:14 PM
You do not need pure lead for patched round balls.

shotman
03-25-2012, 09:17 PM