PDA

View Full Version : Headspace question 1903/03-A3

ilcop22
03-21-2012, 03:29 AM
Good morning,

Long story short, I have a badly bubba'd 1903 with an 03A3 barrel affixed. The bbl had been slightly turned down to fit the 1903 rear sight sleeve.

I also have a 1903-A3 stripped receiver w/bolt sleeve.

My hope was to remove the A3 bbl from the 1903 and put it on the stripped A3 receiver. The first problem is a lack of an indexing mark on the bbl thanks to bubba turning that part down. The second is that the stripped bolt does not easily close on a factory round, in this case an M2 ball cartridge. It takes a bit of force, but not any worse than an old M48 or 91/30. When I swapped the bolt sleeve for a complete 03A3 bolt from another rifle, the bolt closed with significantly less effort, but still more effort than the complete 03A3. In all cases, the bolt would not close on the no-go gauge.

I'm new to installing barrels on bolt action guns, so my understanding of how much headspace is too little headspace is negligible. That said, would the gun be safe to fire with less than perfect headspacing (keeping in mind this is a case of too LITTLE not too much) and if not, is this a case of "not worth the effort"? Thanks.

elk hunter
03-21-2012, 09:33 AM
Headspace that is too tight can be a pain to deal with while reloading. Good barrels and bolts for 03-A3's are still fairly common, given your lack of experience if you can't find someone close by that can help you set the barrel up, and unless your barrel is exceptional, I'd just look for something better.

yovinny
03-21-2012, 09:38 AM
If I'm understanding correctly, it seems fine and correct with go & no-go gauges, but is tight with a factory loaded M2 round ?

Or are you trying to use that factory loaded round as you'r go gauge ?

Reg
03-21-2012, 09:51 AM
Best to take it to someone who knows what they are doing. Playing with the proper fitting of barrels is not a good place for the amateur to start.

ilcop22