PDA

View Full Version : Part of the 10mm club!!

Love Life
03-20-2012, 02:45 PM
Well almost. I put a Colt Delta Elite on layaway today and will be bringing her home in a month or so.

Anywho I searched through the 10mm threads and got great info on the cartridge and loading for it, but not much on the gun.

I have read the reviews around the net, but I would like to hear what members here have to say about the gun.

The good, the bad, and the ugly.

Thanks a bunch. Now if you'll excuse me I will be on my way to hunt up brass, a mould, and other necessities.

gunfan
03-20-2012, 05:47 PM
I have been shooting the 10mm Auto since 1991. The new Colt's Delta Elite has most of the "kinks" worked out of it. I would check to make certain that the spring is stout enough to handle Double Tap's and Buffalo Bore's loads. These are at the "upper end" of the 10mm's practical range in an auto pistol.

The revolver is a slightly different animal, as it can take a slightly higher pressure load for a longer period of time.

Remember, the 10mm Auto's MAXIMUM pressure is 37,500 psi (same as the .38 Super.) This lends itself to using heavier bullets for hunting purposes, as well as hot and heavy antipersonnel loads ranging between 155 and 180 grains in weight.

Lighter bullets (from 135-150) grains are quite effective against smaller game and bad guys in summer apparel, but a thick glass plate, reinforced with chicken wire, can stop a lighter bullet.

For summer carry, a 155-grain JHP Double Tap load is an excellent choice, while a 180-grain JHP is a better bet against winter clothing. (Penetration being a key factor in reaching the vital organs.)

I hope that this has been illuminating.

Scott

subsonic
03-20-2012, 06:14 PM
Look into the 175sthp winchester ammo. It has been great since the 90s and is what I carry. A friend had an older Delta and I have a G20.

Both were good. The delta had trouble with the front sight coming off. Other than that, no issues.