PDA

View Full Version : New Member

Edgeofthewoods
03-28-2007, 12:28 AM
Hey folks. Been casting for about 10 years, but only pistol and BP rifle. This is my first time at centerfire rifle. I got an arspnal rebuilt No4 Mk2 Enfield. Completely rebuilt to brand new. I am casting bullets for it and I got a couple of questions.
For years I have loaded the Sierra 180 grain Pro Hunter with 40.0 grains of Varget. That old Enfeild LOVES that load. I cameacross a Lee C312-185-1R. Using a 90% WW and 10% Hard lead shot and dropping them in to cold water I am getting .313 bullets except for the first 3 or 4 casts.
Lead loads are not to easy to find in rifle powders, Well my powder that is.
1 I have a BUNCH of Bullseye for my .45 ACP and .45 Colts plus my wife uses it in her 9mm.
2 Have even more of Varget that I use for my .303, .308, 7.62x54R and my 9 year olds .243 and my wifes 7x57 Mauser
I really want to stay with the rifle powder for the rifles and pistol powder for the pistols.
Now my book does not show any loads for Varget for 180 grain cast. BUT for the .30-40 Krag it does show loads for a 190 grain Pb boolit of 25 grain to 35 grains of Varget. I am thinking of using this to start with since both the 30-40 and the 303 are very close. the 30-40 has about.109" on the 303 so I was thinking about a 10% reduction and working up.

OK Now for the stupid question of the day..... I have a lee sizer and I have been panlubing bullets for years. But only pistol bullets. How do I make sure the gas check stays on? I would hate like hell to have one of those things fall off and lodge in the bore. Is the best way to size the bullet base up so that the gas check is pressed first or point up so that it is last. Sorry for the newbie questions, but this is the best place to look for for answers.

Thanks folks

Chuck

Edgewood NM

JeffinNZ
03-28-2007, 12:46 AM
Firstly, stop apologising for being new and asking questions. This is what the forum is for.