PDA

View Full Version : X-Die Setup

BulletFactory
03-13-2012, 01:19 PM
I still have some confusion about setting the headspace after reading the instructions for the X dies online.

In the instructions it shows you how to set up the dies by raising the ram, lowering the die to contact the shellholder, lowering the ram and turning the die in 1/4 turn so that the press will cam over at the top of the stroke.

But how do I set up the proper headspace by doing this? My rifle headspaces at 1.631. From what I have read on the M-14 forums, I am supposed to set the bullets up at 1.627, giving them .004" breathing room.

How do I accomplish this?

I've never done this part of reloading before, this is all new to me.

Thanks.

BulletFactory
03-14-2012, 10:00 AM
Did I put this in the wrong spot?

Larry Gibson
03-14-2012, 10:53 AM
BulletFactory

I still have some confusion about setting the headspace after reading the instructions for the X dies online.

In the instructions it shows you how to set up the dies by raising the ram, lowering the die to contact the shellholder, lowering the ram and turning the die in 1/4 turn so that the press will cam over at the top of the stroke.

But how do I set up the proper headspace by doing this? My rifle headspaces at 1.631. From what I have read on the M-14 forums, I am supposed to set the bullets up at 1.627, giving them .004" breathing room.

How do I accomplish this?

The instructions are for generic set up. The X Die can be set up like any other FL die to adjust the case headspace to match the chamber headspace, just as you want to do it. So, with the mandrell backed out or removed adjust the X Die to give the case headspace you want.

Then, as per the instructions run the case up into the die (with the mandrel back in) and screw the mandrel down solid against the case mouth. The additionally sized cases should then not get any longer than the 1st case. The cases to be sized need to be close to the same oal but not exact.