PDA

View Full Version : zinc test?

taxidermyguy
03-11-2012, 11:02 PM
Ok. Im new to casting bullets, and have a couple questions. i have been collecting wheel weights for a long time. i have about 500 lbs of cleaned ww alloy poured into ingots. i have never worried about zinc contamination before, because i was unaware of it. how can i test my ingots to see if they contain zinc? i have cast some bullets from them and they came out great. Do i even have to worry about it if the bullets are coming out fine? i have read about guys making bullets from zinc, so why worry? i used some toilet bowl cleaner ( works, white bottle blue cap) thinking the acid would react to the zinc if any was present. no reaction took place. it has got me all worried that my alloy is comtaminated!! will it hurt my gun? to shoot zinc contaminated bullets? please give me your advice!!

oneokie
03-11-2012, 11:15 PM
Muratic acid. Available in the pool section of most stores, or the masonry section of the home improvement stores. Be aware that the fumes are toxic.

If your alloy is making good boolits, don't sweat it.

taxidermyguy
03-12-2012, 06:54 PM
thanks for the info. the alloy makes very nice bullets im not gonna worry to much then!

hydraulic
03-12-2012, 08:46 PM
If you have zinc in your alloy, you'll know it. The alloy turns mushy and lumpy and will not pour easily. Sort your WW's by hand, one at a time, and watch for any with rivits, or odd looking shapes, and look for the zn mark on the weight. When you smelt, keep the temp down and as the lead starts melting, stir it with a slotted spoon. The zinc will float as the lead melts and can be scooped up. I found one in my last smelting session that was not marked zn. If I hadn't been watching it would have ruined 30 lbs. of ww's.

40Super
03-12-2012, 08:56 PM