PDA

View Full Version : Should I run to - or from?

Ken73
03-10-2012, 11:39 PM
I'm new to casting boolits, but have been lurking here for a while trying to learn as much as I can. The one thing that has me worried though is the (apparent) lack of availability of lead (or suitable alloys) for casting. I've been hunting around and it doesn't seem like the local tire (tahr!) shops want to give it up (epa concerns?) even for a price, and I've called the local metal recycler only to be ignored (no callback.) I don't want to pay new prices as that defeats the purpose of casting IMO.

I found an ad on Craigslist for lead wheel weights not far from me, the guy claims he has around 500lbs of WW and wants $0.75 a pound - along with a Lee melting pot for $20 and a "couple of Lee molds" for $5 each. He doesn't know what the molds are for yet (I asked him to specify what they were) but haven't heard back. He said he also has some pre-smelted/fluxed ingots as well for $1 a pound.

FYI, I have a couple of 45 cal black powder pistols and I bought a Lee mold for them, but have yet to use it as I just moved last year and I'm still building up my shop. I just bought a 300 Blackout AR kit from Model 1 Sales (16", 1-8 twist) that I'd like to cast boolits for as well. I don't plan (though I won't rule it out) on feeding it anything other than subsonics; I've been eyeing the NOE and Accurate Molds selections for molds. I'd also like to cast some of the basics; 45 ACP, 9x19, and maybe even some 380 ACP. Potentially even some rifle rounds (7.62x51, 6mm, 7mm, etc.)

So - my question is - knowing what I intend to use it for - would you run from this deal, or to it? I asked him how much for the lot (all of it) but he couldn't come up with an number.

turmech
03-11-2012, 12:08 AM
for me .50 per pound for raw WW is my max. At this price I would also want older all lead WW. Newer WW would include quite a bit of zinc and steel WW and I would only pay .25 to .30.