PDA

View Full Version : Teachers take a field trip to the range !

Patrick L
03-25-2007, 09:34 AM
Some of you that know me know that in my other life (the one I am forced to lead in order to earn a living and finance my shooting life) I am a high school music teacher. Political climate as it is here in the great Northeast, most of us that enjoy shooting are pretty quiet about it. Not super secret, but we don't wear our Charlton Heston T shirts to work.

Anyhow, this past Friday was a Superintendent's conference day, or more commonly known as a staff development day. The theme this year was wellness. We were offered glut of workshops to attend in order to improve our general health, mental state, etc. Under this very broad umbrella, there were workshops on everything from stress relief, lowfat cooking, yoga, gardening, pottery, you name it. Apparently, hobby type workshops were featured because people with an outlet for the stresses/tensions of work tend to cope better, and are more productive.

I was SHOCKED to see among the course offerings a trip to a local rod & gun club to tour the facilities and have a supervised exposure to .22 rifle shooting, trap, skeet, and sporting clays. It seems one of our teachers, a female elementary reading teacher is very involved in smallbore position shooting. She competes at the state level and from what I understand places quite well. I know this girl because she is also a cello player and has performed on many of our faculty recitals. I never had any idea she was a shooter. She proposed this idea to our administration and they got behind it and endorsed it.