PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Here, Leading on Lands Near Muzzle?

Naga
03-08-2012, 01:27 AM
Hello everyone. This past weekend, I fired my first cast rifle boolits out of two different rifles. Both rifles have nice bores with no major defects or frosting. The rifles and loads were as follows:

Finnish M39 Mosin Nagant (slugs at .3112")
NOE 316299 sized to .314"
Gas checked
Pan lubed with Javelina
36gr H4831
3/4gr Dacron filler

Swiss K31 (slugs at .3073")
Lee 309-160 sized to .309"
Gas checked
Pan lubed with Javelina
26gr H4895
3/4gr Dacron filler

I was unsure how hard to make the boolits, so I decided that "too much is better than not enough," and cast them out of water dropped Rotometals hardball alloy.

Either way, I had little time at the range, so I only fired 10 rounds through the Mosin, and 20 rounds through the K31. I only shot at 25 yards, and accuracy at that range was nothing to write home about (about 1" for both guns.) However, upon cleaning the guns, I discovered that both guns have some leading on the lands, starting about 2" from the muzzle.

The boolits were well sized, and cast from a hard alloy. They were also gas checked and lubed with (what I thought was) good lube. I found it odd that the leading didn't seem to extend into the grooves, so I did a search on this forum, and found someone suggesting that I lube the noses of the boolits (the Javelina I applied was only in the lube grooves.)

Could lubing the noses help with this problem? How, and with what, should I lube the noses? Finally, does anyone have any other suggestions as to what I could do about this issue?

Thanks.

tomme boy
03-08-2012, 02:15 AM
Muzzle is larger than the rest of the bore could be what is happening. Or just running out of lube.

stubshaft
03-08-2012, 03:59 AM
Did you notice if you had developed a "lube star" at the muzzle?

Did you make sure all traces of copper fouling were removed?

The easiest way that I've found to lube the nose it to dip it in thinned xlox.