PDA

View Full Version : Bullet out of round?

jethunter
03-07-2012, 11:26 PM
I picked up a RCBS .455 webley HB mould on an auction some months back. Appears new and unused. Tried it for the first time last night and cast a couple hundred nice looking boolits. Measured them this morning and of the 10-12 I measured, every one of them is out of round, with 90degree offset diameter measurements of .452" and .457".

I haven't seen this much out of round previously in any other moulds but I'm fairly new to the game. Is this acceptable variation in diameter? i'd think not...

I don't have a sizing die for this boolit yet. Is this something that can be cured by sizing or is it just too lopsided to correct?

03-07-2012, 11:41 PM
Recently, RCBS replaced a used mould that was dropping skinny boolits. Give them a call, you may be pleasantly surprised.

leftiye
03-08-2012, 06:41 AM
Make sure the mold is closing. Check to see if the mold halves are misaligned. Is the out of round big across the mold opening or vertical to the parting line?

jethunter
03-08-2012, 08:26 AM
Measurement at the parting line is approx .457"

popper
03-08-2012, 12:55 PM
Don't know what your bore is, but .006 sizing seems like a LOT, whether in a sizer or the bbl.

Wolfer
03-08-2012, 07:36 PM
I have a lee 452-255RF that usually runs 452 on the seam and 457 the other way. I size it 452 in a lee push through to wipe the excess lube off. I didn't always size though just tumble lubed or wiped some grease on by hand. I didn't send this mold back because it is the most accurate 45 mold I own, and I have several. My cyls are 452 and barrel is 4515.

I think part of the problem is I lubed it with NRA 50/50 per lees instructions and it has built up sort of like beagleing. I could clean it but when something works for me I tend to leave it alone.

DLCTEX
03-08-2012, 07:44 PM