PDA

View Full Version : Limitations of the Lee Classic Loader

Silvercreek Farmer
03-06-2012, 05:10 PM
Other than speed, what are the limitations to the Lee loaders? Forgive me if this old ground, but I am new to reloading and don't plan on doing a lot (at least not yet). The price on the Lee loaders is certainly attractive at less than a set of dies...

MT Chambers
03-06-2012, 06:12 PM
No full length sizing, which is very important with hunting ammo, I just don't like hammering on ammo. It's the old adage with all things Lee, you get what you pay for.

303british.com
03-06-2012, 07:36 PM
Not being able to full length resize your brass isn't a limitation. You didn't say which action type you're reloading for. If it's a bolt action or single shot, then getting a LL is a sensible option. Neck sized ammunition, loaded to the pressure levels you'll get with a Lee scoop, won't stretch the cases for many reloadings.

Hunting ammunition does not necessarily need to be full length resized. That was one writer's opinion from an old outdoors magazine many years ago. A few people repeated it, and the rest is history. You neck only size and run your finished ammunition through your rifle before you go on your trip. You'll be at the range anyway.

Here's an article about using the LL.

http://www.303british.com/id31.html

The only difficulty I see with new reloaders is priming by tapping the case onto the primer. There is a small learning curve to get it right. Generally, most people baby the hammer and it takes four or five strikes to fully seat.

Speed is the only thing that bothers most people, but it shouldn't. These tools are great for beginners or experienced users. I have reloaded at the range, on hunting trips and when visiting relatives who I did not care to see. (My wife makes me go...)