PDA

View Full Version : High Power rifle casting

DunRanull
03-06-2012, 08:33 AM
I'm called Dun., live in a smallish Colorado town south of the Springs. Been shooting for nearly 50 years and reloaded some of that until the advent of the mil-surps. Have cast for muzzleloaders, both round ball and lead pistol bullets for .38 and .45 ACP.
Im new to casting for smokeless rifles, and to this site as well. If this is the wrong spot, mods plop me in the correct fora :)
Im sure there is info available on this topic.. which I will be researching.
Is it possible (or useful) to cast lead spire-point boat tail for say, .303, .30-30, .308 8mm Mauser, 7.62X54 or what have you... The ablility to cast useful boat-tail spire-points for these calibers is what I have in mind. Sometime, maybe I'll get lucky and snag a .45-70 or some such. Thanks from the noob! Dun

RU shooter
03-06-2012, 10:51 AM
Spire points yes there are several moulds available now that do that ,Boattailed bullets no! There's no need to

largom
03-06-2012, 11:37 AM
I see no need or use for a boat-tail cast boolit. Why do you specify boat-tail? Are you shooting "High Power" competition?

Larry

waksupi
03-06-2012, 12:05 PM
Yep, you are looking in entirely the wrong direction for cast boolit happiness. Look at Loverin design molds. They aren't pretty, they aren't sleek, but they put a lot of power a long way down range accurately.

Char-Gar
03-06-2012, 12:22 PM
You are trying to transfer jacketed bullet notions to cast bullets. There are some spire pointed cast bullet out there, but they are not the most sucessful designs. There are no boat tail cast bullets for good reason. They would be a disaster, exposing the sides of the boat tail to the hot gases.

You would do well to heed the counsel of Waksupi/Rick. Reprogram your head, if you are going to delve into cast bullet shooting in rifles.

Larry Gibson
03-06-2012, 01:16 PM
Dun