PDA

View Full Version : Question for machinists re: an RCBS 4x4

MikeyPooh
03-04-2012, 09:24 PM
So, I'm new to reloading and am perfectly happy using my old single stage press, and frankly don't see myself ever needing a progressive.

I bought a box of reloading stuff a few years ago on craigslist and got an RCBS 4x4 progressive in the mix. I love the press, stout as all get out, but hate the wacky linkages and also have no desire to track down a bunch of shellplates for it.

I've seen the CH 444 H-press and like that - and it seems more my speed. And then I had an AH-HA! moment. (look out!)

Here's a pic so you'll know what I'm talking about:

http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/846/img6003r.jpg

So I'm thinking it should be possible to make a new part that either replaces the shellplate, or the shellplate holder - something that would allow me to just pop in standard shellholders. Does anyone think this is feasible? Any idea of who could do something like that? Any idea of the cost of a job like that? Or is it just a stupid idea for some reason I haven't thought of?

Thanks

drhall762
03-04-2012, 09:40 PM
I think it boils down to setting down and doing some measurements. Could it be done. Probably. Actually sounds like a good idea to me. Looks like the shellplate holder may be thick enough. Most likely a machinist will quote it at an hourly rate for design and machine work. I would unless I was doing it for myself. Basically have to replicate the attachment on the single station ram 4 times.

dnotarianni
03-04-2012, 09:57 PM
why not sell it and get something like a T-Mag?
dave

1bluehorse
03-04-2012, 10:51 PM