PDA

View Full Version : seeking sizing/lubing counsel

PuppetZ
03-03-2012, 01:50 AM
Hi, I'm fairly new to reloading/casting-in fact I do not have one single round reloaded so far- but been sponging every bit of knowledge I can get. So I cast some WW using a Lee C309-180-R for my 30-06. They drop at .311 and I use a lee .309 sizer to seat the GC on them. The ones I made are straight WW(only lead alloy I can readily get) air cooled.

I'm looking at heat treating the boolits I cast and read that sizing them after HT will ruin the drive ring hardness, so I have to seat the GC before I HT.

If I want to pan lub and not tumble lub(too messy IMO), do I really need to lube before I push the boolits through the Lee sizer? They say in the instruction booklet that it'll lead the die. But it seem silly to lub only to heat them in the oven right after, no?

I'm planning on using IMR trailboss for this load as it's a fool-proof, low density powder, but still I'll need to heat treat the boolits to push full load(looking at 26000PSI with a 150gr jacketed and I got a 180gr cast) I want an opinion from more experienced ppl on the matter, specifically if I can push my un-lubed boolits through my sizing die, then heat treat, then pan lub.

Thanks for your time!

stubshaft
03-03-2012, 02:09 AM
You will lead the sizing die without some type of lube. You can spritz it with dishwashing soap and was the boolits after. ACWW will be hard enough for anything Trailboss has to offer so heat treating is a waste of time. You didn't list the bore diameter which if you are sizing to .309 better be .308.

looseprojectile
03-03-2012, 02:13 AM
I'd bet you a new sizer that it will work fine the way you propose doing it.
I size and seat the check dry and give the base of the boolit with check a couple of taps with the punch to square the check. Nose up.
My boolits come out of the sizer looking like chrome on the driving bands.