PDA

View Full Version : any one shoot 445 SM contender

dryfire
02-29-2012, 07:39 PM
i have had trouble getting cast bullets under 2"
I know powders are limeted, have used 296 and AA1680
mostly 1680 I was told to try 2400 but have had no luck with it.
the best i have came up with is cci350 AA1680 - 37.0gr /lyman #429244 255GC
I am new to casting just started last year, but the 44 shoot them well enough
I love this 445 but it has been the bigst challange i have ever had reloading!!!!
(Just thought it was time to stop and ask for directions)

missionary5155
02-29-2012, 08:23 PM
Greetings
Last time up north there I used 1680 in my 414SM DW with a 265 gc and liked what I saw. This time up I am going to rechamber my 14" 41 mag to 414SM and start with 1680.
Read another Thread here where a feller is using RL7 with 300 grainers + in a 414 JDJ.
Mike in Peru

runfiverun
02-29-2012, 09:54 PM
the issue with contender bbl's is thier throats.
you gotta get across that gap straight.
you might just need a longer boolit to be in the case and the throat at the same time.

i use aa-1680 in mine also, but same as mike, through a dan.
i have had good luck with h-4227 also.

blaser.306
02-29-2012, 10:06 PM
I shoot a super 14" tc .445 supermag and it shoots better than I do ! My biggest trouble with it is with the lighter Boolits I cannot get enough elevation out of it . So I just started throwing 330 gr NOE rfn gas checks out of it pushed with 29.5 gr of 1680 lit off with a federal 155 and all is good ( untill my nervous system kicks in ) towards the end of a silywet match , 40 rounds in quick sucsetion seems to be about enough!

dryfire
02-29-2012, 10:42 PM
well i have tree barrels between me and my buddy all (custom)***** dont want to go into a fcussing fit today.
with another 12.5" bullberry on the way, have NO complants with bullberry they are jam up!
the troat is perfect with a verry tight chamber
the bulberry likes the 240xtp/39.0-aa1680 with the other barrels 210gr.serria HP/