PDA

View Full Version : 45 ACP Reloading Issue

Unlucky1
02-25-2012, 05:39 PM
I am new to reloading and casting so bear with me. Before I reload my cast boolits I thought I would try 230 grain FMJ RN bulets to make sure I was using my lee equipment properly before adding my cast boolits into the picture. So, I loaded 5 230 grain FMJ bulets into my cleaned once fired brass with 4 grains of Hodgdon TiteGroup powder and test fired and everything appeared to be fine. (I am using a lee press and using all the dies including the factory crimp die.) So, I loaded about 150 more bulets using the same 230 grain FMJ with 4 grains of Hogdon TiteGroup which is the minimum load spec per their website for 230 grain bulets.
I went to the range today and fired about 50 of my reloads and had a few misloads. I do understand that I may need to go up a little on the powder. My bigger concern was that the end of my 45 ACP Semi Auto pistol is now coated with powder residue and the shell casings have black powder resadue about 1/2 way down on the casing and about 1/4 of the way around the casing. So it's more or less a striped down the casing 1/2 the casings length.
Any thoughts would sure be appreciated. I am ready to try out my 230 grain lead boolits from my lee 6 cavity 230 Grain RN TL die. Thanks in advance. And if you want you can call me John but now you can see why I go by unlucky1. hehe

Thanks,
John AKA Unlucky1:killingpc

GT27
02-25-2012, 06:00 PM
I would up my powder charge by .3 with Titegroup to start,I'm at 5.0 grains using a 230 grain cast. Make sure your seating depth is correct for the boolit you are using(overall length).Sounds like the case isnt getting enough of a charge to seal the gases correctly in the chamber,dont overcrimp,just a light taper, and in turn you are getting some gas blow-by,easy fix!Don't exceed the info max on this powder,it is very fast burning!BTW,some soot is normal,take a pic of the empty shell and post it here! What 45? GT27

Jammer Six